At the end of the 19th c. the necessity of forming a historical museum in Lviv became imminent. A historian and collector Aleksander Czoiowski became the bearer of this idea and put it into practice. Being the director of a small building of ancient acts registry, he accumulated there municipal and guild relics. That was the beginning of the future historical museum; it was informed about in a special Testimonial of the 22nd of December, 1892. In May, 1908 on the initiative of A. Czoiowski, Lviv bought the ancient stone building in 6, Rynok Square and allocated it for the museum aims, namely the National Museum named after King Jan III. In 1926 the Historical Museum of Lviv gained its new home -the building in 4, Rynok Square - "Chorna Kamyanytsya" ("The Blackstone House"). The World War II brought changes into life of the museum. On the 8th of May, 194O4he Historical Museum of Lviv and the National Museum named after Jan III were amalgamated into one establishment - the Lviv Historical Museum. Nowadays the Lviv Historical Museum, one of the richest museums of Ukraine, has in the stock more than 310 thousand museum objects. At the end of the 40s the house in 24, Rynok Square, the so-called Massari building was transferred into its possessions. The exhibition of the department of history of the Ancient World and the Middle Ages is located in this building. There are unique relics among the archaeological discoveries represented by the department: stone hand rags used over half a million years ago; The City of Museums one of the most ancient musical instruments: a reed-pipe made of bone which is over twenty thousand years old; decorative pottery of tribes of Trypilian culture, one of the most developed European ethnic groups of the fourth - third millenium B.C. Among the rarities there are encolpions* - assembled crosses for keeping little parts of relics of the saints. There are seventy five of them in the collection. Painters of different times left for us the views of the prince and medieval town. The most sculpturesque and fascinating one is the canvas "Lviv of the 18th c."* painted by Z. Rozwadowski and S. Janowski in 1928. The exhibition worth seeing is the one of the Historical Museum branch - "Literary Lviv of the first half of the 20 c", where in the context of the development of European culture they regard the life and creative work of prominent representatives of Ukrainian vanguard -B.-I. Antonych, S. Hordyns'kyi and the others of their contemporaries (18, Hvardiys'ka Street, tel.: 35-10-33). In the museum there often gather famous Lviv poets, writers, literary scholars, musicians. Classical music performed by famous masters can be heard both in the Royal Halls and in the Italian courtyard. The life in ancient walls which remember Lviv patricians goes on. The Lviv Historical Museum exhibition is situated in the following premises: - The Ancient World and the Middle Ages department - 24, Rynok Square. - The New and the Latest History department - 4, Rynok Square. - Historical Jewellery department and Exhibition of Art Silver -6, Rynok Square, tel.: 72-06-71. - Arsenal Museum department - 5, Pidval'na Street, tel.: 72-19-01. - Sale exhibition of subjects of religious purpose - 5, Pidval'na Street (the socle). The museum is opened from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. (in winter time) and from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. (spring, summer, autumn). Wednesday is the day off.